Second Judicial Circuit Welcomes Newly Elected Lawrence County Resident Judge

The Second Judicial Circuit is pleased to announce Michael M. Strange has been sworn in as the Resident Circuit Judge of Lawrence County. Judge Strange was elected in the November general election to fill the seat vacated by the retirement of the Honorable Robert Hopkins following his 30 years of service on the bench. The official swearing-in ceremony took place Monday morning in the Lawrence County Courthouse where Judge Strange was surrounded by family, friends, and other members of the judiciary.

Judge Strange formerly served as the Lawrence County States Attorney from 2016-2022, as well as, an Assistant States Attorney in the counties of Crawford, Richland, and Lawrence. A lifelong resident of Lawrence County, Judge Strange graduated Lawrenceville High School in 1999. He received his Bachelors Degree from Saint Louis University in 2003 and his Juris Doctorate Degree from Saint Louis University School of Law in 2006.

Second Judicial Circuit Chief Judge Melissa Morgan stated, "I am honored to welcome Judge Strange to the judiciary. He brings with him extensive experience and a commitment to serving the people of Lawrence County. The Judges of the Second Circuit congratulate him and we look forward to serving alongside him." The Second Judicial Circuit is comprised of the counties of Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, and White.