Legal Self-Help Centers

Second Judicial Circuit Legal Self-Help Centers

Crawford County - Robinson Public Library; Oblong Public Library; Hutsonville Public Library; Susan Wesley Memorial Library, Flat Rock; Palestine Public Library

Edwards County  - Albion Public Library and West Salem Public Library

Franklin County - West Frankfort Public Library and Benton Public Library

Gallatin County - Shawneetown Public Library in Shawneetown

Hamilton County - McCoy Memorial Library in McLeansboro

Hardin County - Rosiclare Memorial Public Library in Rosiclare

Jefferson County - C.E. Brehm Memorial Library in Mt. Vernon

Lawrence County - Lawrenceville Public Library

Richland County - Olney Public Library

Wabash County - Mt. Carmel Public Library

Wayne County - Fairfield Public Library

White County - Carmi Public Library and Norris City Memorial Public Library District

The internet-based centers provide legal information to individuals who are not able to retain the services of an attorney to represent them in court. By providing accurate and current information on Illinois law and court operations, including legal pleadings in some cases, the centers are intended to help alleviate some of the problems which the courts and self-represented litigants are experiencing.

The location and hours of operation of each center are listed on the front page of the respective websites. Illinois Legal Aid Online’s website is located at

The Second Circuit Legal Self-Help Centers were established as a collaboration among the Circuit Court, the Circuit Clerks’ offices, Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation, the Benton Public Library, the Fairfield Public Library, the C.E. Brehm Memorial Library, the West Frankfort Public Library, the Shawnee Library System, Illinois Legal Aid Online and the Illinois Coalition for Equal Justice.

For additional information, please contact the Office of the Chief Judge, Jefferson County Justice Center, Mt. Vernon, IL 618.244.8036.