Official Court Reported Honored for Distinguished Career Spanning 36 Years

Official Court Reporter for the Second Judicial Circuit, Traci Ackman, announced her retirement after 36 years of service and was recently recognized at the courthouse for her distinguished career. A native of Robinson and graduate of Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, Ackman began her employment with the Circuit on October 1, 1986. She officially retired March 1, and was honored for her dedication and commitment to the administration of justice throughout the Second Circuit.

Official Court Reporters are tasked with the responsibility of making a verbatim record of all testimony in a court proceeding, and, upon request, producing a written transcript of the proceeding. Reporters must be excellent grammarians and spellers, and must be adept at vocabulary – particularly legal, medical, and technical terminology. In an average day, a reporter may transcribe between 30,000 and 50,000 words.

Second Circuit Chief Judge Melissa Morgan recognized Ackman stating, “The Second Circuit is extremely grateful to Traci Ackman for her 36 years of service to our court system. Her dedication, integrity, and professionalism distinguish her as a leader in her field. Our courts have changed over the years, adapting to new advances in technology and striving to meet the needs that challenges including the recent pandemic have presented. Being able to count on Traci’s experience to help navigate these changes has been invaluable. I am honored to recognize Traci for her exemplary commitment to her colleagues and the court, and on behalf of the Second Circuit, I extend our congratulations to her in her retirement.”

Court Reporter Supervisor Amy Scott also added, “I knew I could always depend on Traci for anything I needed. Her dedication to her work throughout her 36 years has been exceptional. On behalf of the Court Reporters of the Second Circuit, we wish her the best in this new chapter of her life.”

The Second Judicial Circuit is comprised of twelve counties: Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, and White.


Pictured L-R: Supervisor Amy Scott, Reporter Traci Ackman, and Chief Judge Melissa Morgan