Hamilton County Court Awarded Over $425,000 in Technology Grant

Second Circuit Chief Judge Melissa Morgan is proud to announce that Hamilton County Circuit Court has been awarded a Technology Modernization Grant in the amount of $427,708.91. The grant program, funded by the Illinois Supreme Court and the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts, was offered to county court systems in the State for technology upgrades to modernize the delivery of court services.

Chief Judge Morgan sought the funding for Hamilton County and expressed her gratitude for the award stating, “I knew when the grant opportunity was announced that I wanted to work with Hamilton County to upgrade their courtroom and court operations. It has truly been a pleasure working with Justice Barry Vaughan, Hamilton County Resident Judge who has been assigned to the Fifth District Appellate Court, Sheriff Tracy Lakin, and States Attorney Justin Hood on issues related to courtroom security and improving the technology for evidence presentation and remote court proceedings through Zoom. I have also enjoyed working with Circuit Clerk Beth Sandusky to purchase equipment for her office including a new system server. We simply would not have been able to make these improvements without this grant and we are extremely grateful to the Administrative Office and the Illinois Supreme Court for this generous award.”

Justice Barry Vaughan shared his thoughts on the grant stating, “I appreciate the work of Chief Judge Morgan and the Chief Judge’s Office in obtaining this grant to upgrade the Hamilton County Courthouse’s technology and security at no cost to the Hamilton County Residents.”

Hamilton County’s grant request was approved to fund new WI-FI, computers, monitors, printers, a system server for the Circuit Clerk’s Office, security cameras, and other technology equipment including outdoor electronic signage. “I am especially excited about the outdoor signage. Improving the flow of information is vital to expanding access to justice in our communities and this signage allows for the efficient exchange of that information. We can now immediately share important news and notify the public about courthouse operations which is a valuable resource to the people and communities we serve,” added Chief Judge Morgan.

The Second Judicial Circuit is comprised of twelve counties: Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, and White.

(Pictured left to right with the newly installed electronic sign:  Erica Summers, Exec. Assistant to the Chief Judge; States Attorney Justin Hood, Chief Judge Melissa Morgan, Sheriff Tracy Lakin, and Deputy Jason Stewart)