Wayne County Circuit Court to Receive Technology Grant of Over $63,000

Second Circuit Chief Judge Melissa Morgan is proud to announce that Wayne County Circuit Court has been awarded a Technology Modernization Grant for the third consecutive year. The grant program, funded by the Illinois Supreme Court and the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts, was offered to county court systems in the State for technology upgrades to modernize the delivery of court services. This year’s grant was awarded to fund new computer software for the courtroom computers and an outdoor digital sign for the courthouse to improve the flow of information to court participants.

Wayne County Circuit Clerk Pam Southerd expressed her gratitude for the grant stating, “I am so thrilled to have received this grant to improve technology within my office and the courthouse. We have made great progress in updating the courtroom with the latest technology in the past few years.”

Chief Judge Morgan, who is also serving as the Acting Presiding Judge of Wayne County added, “My staff and I have enjoyed working with Circuit Clerk Pam Southerd to secure this funding. Over the last two years, these grants have funded equipment and software that would not have been possible without these awards. I am especially excited for this grant that will fund new outdoor digital signage. Improving the flow of information is vital to expanding access to justice in our communities. This signage will notify the public about courthouse operations and is an efficient exchange of information and resources to the people we serve. We are extremely grateful to the Supreme Court and the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts for this generous grant.”

The Second Judicial Circuit is comprised of twelve counties: Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, and White.

(Pictured left to right:  Wayne County Circuit Clerk Pam Southerd and Second Circuit Chief Judge and Acting Presiding Judge of Wayne County Melissa Morgan)