Family Violence Coordinating Council

What is the Family Violence Coordinating Council?

The Family Violence Coordinating Council is a group of decision makers from all sectors, both public and private, that deal with family violence. It can include representatives from the following areas: law enforcement, prosecutors, judiciary, public defense, health, clergy, service and educational systems. It includes all counties in the Second Judicial Circuit: Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, and White. Chief Judge Thomas J. Tedeschi serves as the Council's Chairman. Judge Stephen G. Sawyer (Ret.) serves as the Council's Vice-Chairman.  William "Brad" Winter serves as the Second Circuit's Coordinator.

Mission Statement 

The purpose of the Family Violence Coordinating Council and local family violence coordinating councils is to establish a forum to share and discuss information in order to promote a coordinated response in our communities. The Council works to improve the institutional and professional response to family violence issues. The Council engages in education, prevention, and the coordination of intervention and services for victims and perpetrators of child abuse, domestic violence, and elder abuse. A goal of the Council is to contribute to the improvement of the legal system and the administration of justice.

Structure of the Council 

The Second Circuit's Council is guided by a Directions Team composed of policy level representatives of the various systems and organizations in the circuit. The Council is convened through judicial leadership to stimulate coordinator among the systems. Each county develops its own Core Team to address issues specific to their area. In addition, since Jefferson County has the only dedicated domestic violence court, a special committee of the individuals involved meet to discuss the process of handling domestic violence cases through the court system.